2014 Fort McMurray International Film Festival


YMMiFF 1 (2)


The Keyano Recital Theatre was once again home to some amazing films from Wood Buffalo and around the world. During the August 8 – 10 2014 weekend, a enthusiastic crowd witnessed the Fort McMurray International Film Festival complete it’s fourth year.

The 2014 YMMIFF received over 150 submissions resulting in over 80-hours of international competitive programming. Thanks to our community Selection Committee (Sadat Haroon, Natasha Stefanyk and Rai Komarnisky), our 9-hour program of 24 films was generated. All films screened very well to our audience that included filmmakers from across Canada.

From there, our competition went to our Judges (Constance Scarlett, Executive Director of Arts Council Wood Buffalo; Steph Link, Keyano Theatre and Brazen Elephant Productions and Award-Winning Local Filmmaker, Zachary Barrett). The following winners were selected:


Best Short Film

“One Night Only” by Che Grant
($1000 CAD)

Best Feature Film

“On the Trail of Far Fur Country” by Kevin Nikkel
($1000 CAD)

Best Music Video

“Melding of the Minds – Deltron 3030” by Justin Ian Lee

Best Experimental Film

“Flash” by Marina Lazzarotto & Rory R Tucker

Best Documentary Film

“On the Trail of Far Fur Country” by Kevin Nikkel
($1000 CAD)

Best Director

Greg Ash – “Mr Invisible”
($150 CAD)

Best Cinematography

“La Canadienne Francais” by Charles Grenier
($150 CAD)

Best Animation

“The Orphan and the Polar Bear” by Neil Christopher

Best Actress

Camille de Sablet – “Roxanne”
($150 CAD)

Best Actor

Tye Evans – “Aidon”
($150 CAD)

Wood Buffalo Spirit

“Wool” by Cody Bown


In addition to the main festival, films from the YMMIFF 48hr Film Challenge were screened and eligible for awards. During the August 1 – 3 2014 weekend, teams had 48-hours to write, direct and edit a short film that included the following elements:

Location: On The Waterfront

Phrase: “Oh I’m sorry, was that too LOGIC for you?”

Object: Sushi

Our judges selected the following winners:


Best Actor – 48hr Film Challenge

Dustin Young – “Dilbar Overstayed His Welcome”

Best Actress – 48hr Film Challenge

Veronica Doleman – “Neversaid”

Best Director – 48hr Film Challenge

Rai Komarnisky – “Neversaid”

Best Film – 48hr Film Challenge

Team Beetle Squad – “Neversaid”

(Veronica Doleman, Rai Komarnisky and Katie Woodford)

($2000 CAD)


5 teams from Wood Buffalo entered the 48hr Film Challenge; their films can be viewed on the YMM Podcast YouTube Channel:


Clips from our Awards Presentations can also be viewed on the YMM Podcast YouTube Channel:


Due to the competitive nature of this year’s main festival, films submitted or screened at the Fort McMurray International Film Festival will not be made available publicly. It is up to each filmmaker to post their film online.

Each winner received a YMMIFF certificate as well as a hand-made trophy created by Tom Weber Jr, Sean Weber and Richard Weber of Tom’s Marine & Sports in Fort McMurray, Alberta. For more information on these incredible awards that will be sent around the world, click HERE. Certain awards categories also received a cash prize, as indicated above, from the Fort McMurray Filmmakers Association.

The Fort McMurray Filmmakers Association would like to thank Nexen, a CNOOC Limited company as well as the Keyano Theatre and Arts Centre for their continued support of our organization as well as the arts scene in Wood Buffalo. We also would like to thank everyone who participated in and attended this year’s festival, including the filmmakers who journey from eastern Canada to visit our region for the first time. We look to inspire creativity in our community and you all experience this success along with us!


To see more photos from the event, including our Red Carpet Experience, visit our FACEBOOK page and also follow our TWITTER feed to stay up to date on next year’s program.

For further information on the Fort McMurray Filmmakers Association, visit www.ymmfma.com



YMMIFF Final 1

YMMIFF Final 9

YMMIFF Final 2



YMMiFF Postcard 1

Comments are closed.